How to Factory Reset Apple iPhone 14 [All Models]

The iPhone 14 series is the latest addition to the iPhone family. The new lineup does away with the iPhone Mini and now introduces a new iPhone 14 Plus model. Now, the most notable devices in the lineup are the iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone Pro Max. If you have the new iPhone 14 and want to do a factory reset, here’s how to factory reset your iPhone 14 and iPhone 14 Pro models.

When you perform a factory reset, all data that has been stored on your iPhone’s internal storage will be erased. It is therefore recommended to create a backup copy of all your data either on a cloud storage service like Apple iCloud or on your PC or MacBook.

Why Factory Reset Your iPhone 14

One of the reasons many people want to reset their iPhone is because they want to sell the device to someone else or maybe pass it on to another family member. Another reason is also when there may be a glitch or a bug with the latest iOS update which could cause way too much trouble.

Whatever the reason, this guide will help you perform a factory reset on your iPhone 14.

How to reset Apple iPhone 14 and iPhone 14 Pro

There are two main methods you can follow to erase or reset your iPhone 14. This guide will work for iPhone 14, 14 Plus, 14 Pro, and 14 Pro Max. We have also mentioned the steps to follow in case you have a problem with Wi-Fi or mobile networks.

Preconditions:

  • Your iPhone must have a battery charge of 50% or more.
  • Have your Apple ID password and email address ready.
  • Back up your data to iCloud or your PC.

Reset iPhone 14 from Settings app

One of the easiest ways to factory reset your iPhone 14 is to use the factory reset option built into the Settings app. Make sure you have backed up all your data before doing the factory reset.

  1. Launch the Settings app from your device’s home screen.
  2. Tap the General option.
  3. Now you need to select transfer or reset iPhone.
  4. Choose the option that says, Erase all content and settings.
  5. The device will ask you to enter your Apple ID password.
  6. Once the password is entered, the reset process will begin.
  7. At this point, all your data stored on the built-in storage device will be erased.
  8. In a few minutes, the reset will be complete and your iPhone 14 will boot to the setup screen.

Reset iPhone 14 via PC or Mac

You can also use your PC to factory reset your iPhone 14. Here are the steps you can follow.

  1. Turn on your device and connect it to your PC using the USB cable.
  2. If you’re using a Mac running macOS 10.15 or later:
    • From the Dock, click the Finder icon.
    • Click the iPhone button in the Finder sidebar.
    • Now clock on General followed by Restore iPhone.
  3. If you’re using a Windows PC or Mac running macOS 10.14 or earlier, follow these steps:
    • Download the latest version of iTunes.
    • Click the iPhone button located at the top left of the window.
    • Select Summary, then choose Restore iPhone.
  4. And this is how you can reset an iPhone. You can also use this method to create a backup of your iPhone 14 before performing a factory reset on your device.

Reset iPhone 14 via iCloud

Apple also gives you an option to remotely wipe your iPhone 14. For this, your iPhone must be connected to the internet. Here are the steps you can follow to remotely reset your iPhone

  1. Log in to iCloud.com and click Find My iPhone.
  2. Next, click on All Devices and then choose your device from the list that you want to erase.
  3. Click Erase Device.
  4. Enter the Apple ID password. The reset will immediately begin to take place.
  5. If your device is offline, the reset process will begin as the device reconnects to the internet.

Reset Network Settings on iPhone 14

If your iPhone 14 is having issues with your WiFi or mobile networks, performing a network reset is a smarter option instead of resetting the entire device. Here are the steps.

  1. Open the Settings app and tap General.
  2. Now select Transfer or reset device.
  3. Choose Reset followed by Reset Network Settings.
  4. All your saved WiFi networks, APN as well as VPN settings will be erased immediately.

Here are the different methods you can follow to perform a factory rest on your Apple iPhone 14. We hope this guide will help you when you may want to factory reset your iPhone 14. If you have any questions or queries, don’t feel free to leave them in the comments section below.

Related Articles:

Want to learn more about iOS 16? Here’s a new video about Apple’s upcoming operating system for the iPhone.

Leave a Comment